Comfort Food and New Dorm Series

Hey folks! It’s been a while since I posted. I recently moved to Boston, so it has been a hectic month. I will be staying in a dorm for the next couple of months, so I am starting a Dorm Series of recipes that require minimal ingredients and only one pan! I bet this series will make life easier for students.

My first week in Boston made me realize that I can’t live without rice! A true South Indian, one would say. After making a few trips to all the grocery stores around me, I finally found rice and made this dish that should be called nothing other than “comfort food.” Rasam is an authentic South Indian recipe and the best combination for steamed rice. Today’s recipe is a simplified, dorm version of Rasam.

Ingredients Required

  • Steamed rice
  • Tomatoes – 2
  • Tamarind paste – 1 teaspoon
  • Black Pepper Powder – 2 teaspoons
  • Rasam powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Salt

Steps

  • Squeeze two tomatoes in a pot and boil the juice for 4-5 minutes on a low flame.
  • Turn the flame to a medium setting and add a teaspoon of tamarind paste. Mix well and boil for 2 minutes. Add 2 cups of water and stir.
  • Let the soup boil for 10 minutes on a medium flame. Then add salt and 2 teaspoons of black pepper powder. Mix well and turn the flame to a low setting.
  • Add a tablespoon of Rasam powder. (Rasam powder is a unique blend of spices. It contains coriander seed powder, red chilli powder, cumin, fenugreek, mustard seed powder, and asafoetida. You can find Rasam powder in stores or make a homemade blend with these spices).
  • Boil for 2-3 minutes on a low flame. That’s it, a simple and comforting meal is ready to eat! Ladle some of this piping hot Rasam onto steamed rice, mix well and enjoy!

Next up is a simple and delicious salmon recipe, stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started